GALAS 2016 Shortlist

GALAS 2016 Thank YouDublin Front Runners have been nominated for the Sports Award this year, along with Emerald Warriors, Wet & Wild and Out & About Hiking. This is a great achievement for the club and fingers crossed we’ll be successful on the night

Tickets are on sale for the event for €37.15;

Eventbrite Tickets

Hopefully some of you can make it and we’ll be successfully on the night :)

February New Members Run

New MembersFebruary 6th is our first New Members Run of 2016, if you’ve been thinking about joining Dublin Front Runners why not come along and see if you like it, if you have friends who are interested they’re more than welcome too.

We meet in the car park at the Papal Cross, run starts at 10am so people usually arrive around 9:50, the run is between 6k and 10k, we outline a short and a long route and head for some to eat after the run to the Visitors Centre in the park.

All the details and maps to our runs are on our website;

Membership isn’t compulsory on your first run, but if you like the club and want to run with us regularly you’ll need to join. Membership of the club costs €30, €17 of which goes to AAI for insurance and registration, membership runs from 1st Jan to 31st of December.

If you’re coming along let us know via email, Twitter or Facebook and we’ll keep an eye out for you.

AGM 2016 Agenda

Here’s the agenda for our forthcoming AGM, 14th January, if you have any questions or other business you’d like answered/discussed please let me know in advance.

  1. Chairpersons introduction
  2. Minutes from last years AGM & EGM
  3. Training/Fartlek
  4. Secretary’s Report
  5. Pride Run 2015
    • Pride Run 2016
    • Vote for Pride Run 2016
  6. Social Secretary’s Report
  7. Nerilee’s presentation
  8. Treasurers Report
    • Nominate Auditor for 2016
  9. Fee Rise to €40
    Current fee is €30 with €17 for AAI, club retains €12.18 (€0.82 transaction fee).
  10. Elect Chair
  11. Committee Formation
  12. Runners of the year
  13. AOB

Location Change 5th December 2015

Location Change 2015 12 05Due to the Jingle Bells run in the park on Saturday 5th of December, we’ll be running from the Visitors Centre car park at our usual time of 10am.

There are road and gate closures so please leave extra time to get to the park, more details from the OPW;,35713,en.html

New MembersIt’s also our New Members run too so keep an eye out for anyone new that looks lost :)

Location Change Nov 14th

Location Change 2015 NovDue to the Mo Run in the park on Saturday 14th of November, we’ll be starting our usual Saturday run from the Visitors Centre.

There are a number of road and gate closures and the park is likely to be very busy, so please give yourself extra time to get there and find parking if you need it.

Details on road and gate closures below;,35629,en.html

Marathon Results 2015

SSE Marathon 2015A great turn out on Monday for the marathon, and the culmination of months of training for lots of DFR’s, also a thanks to all the DFR supporters around the course. Results are below, apologies if I’ve missed anyone.

I also wanted to mention Tom O’Connor, Monday’s marathon was his 50th which is an amazing achievement :)

Name Time
Dominick Branigan 02:59:46
Thomas Foley 03:05:02
Seamus Moore 03:08:23
Dermot McCarthy 03:15:50
Ray Buckley 03:23:04
Tom Crowley 03:27:41
Timothy Hurley 03:34:32
Gerard Bradley 03:37:51
Hugh Hannigan 03:38:31
Dermot Dawson 03:39:13
Shane Rooney 03:43:18
Eric Reyes 03:45:50
Damien Langan 03:46:15
Damien Molloy 03:47:08
Bryan Durkan 03:50:26
Tom O’Connor 03:50:51
Philip Ryan 03:52:30
Barry Black 03:59:41
Sandra Galvin 04:06:15
Luiz Dasilva 04:15:37
Regina Byrne 04:21:22

Location Change

Location Change PicDue to the Simon Fun Run in the Park this Saturday we’ll be changing our start location to the Visitors Centre Car Park. Still the usual time of 10am, but parking will be an issue so give yourself plenty of time or else cycle over to the park.

There are a number of gate and road closures this weekend,  lots of these kicking in from 9:30am

More details on these see the Phoenix Park website

Road and Gate Closures

Phoenix Park Map

Wednesday Run Move

It’s that time of year again and we’ll be moving to the Garda HQ for our Wednesday night run as of 30th September, it’s important you bring some reflective gear when you’re running Wednesday’s during Autumn – Spring as its quite dark, some runners use head torches as well.

Dingle Results 2015

Thanks to Ronan for compiling this;

Dingle half times were:
Dermot McCarthy 01:31:48
Tom Foley 01:32:11
Dermot Dawson 01:35:30
Ray Buckley 01:36:33
Aidan Rodgers 01:38:26
Tom Crowley 01:42:43
Eric Reyes 01:44:35
Darek Kuc 01:45:31
Gregory Curran 01:48:45
Ronan MacMuiris 01:50:56
Richard Kennedy 01:56:07
Luiz da Silva 01:59:07
Adrian Harte 02:07:04
Seamus McLoughlin 02:10:00
First DFR home Dermot McC placed 62nd overall, we had three in top 100 with 1,632 finishers.  Men’s winner John Meade in 1:14:23. Women’s winner Mary O’Donnell 1:26:28.
Dingle full marathon
Damian Langan 03:58:15

Men’s winner 2:39:24.

Summer Hike 2015

Dublin Frontrunners Hike 2015 with Out and About

Out and About hiking group is pleased to organise a hike Dublin Frontrunners on Sunday, 13 September 2015. Hike leaders Grant and Chris will guide a trail walk in the Wicklow Mountains. The walk will give runners an active break from marathon training and races, and a chance to enjoy some nature and meet members of Out and About. It promises to be a fun and sociable day.

hike1Hike Description This year the hike will start from Ballinastoe Woods in the centre of the Wicklow Mountains – on the slopes of Djouce mountain. This area offers many great forest trails as well as access to open mountain trails, including one of the most scenic sections of the Wicklow Way. We’ll choose the exact route on the day depending on the conditions. After the hike we’ll stop at a local pub before returning to the city.

What you need to bring  No specialised gear is required for this walk. If you have hiking boots bring them, but we have specifically chosen a route that does not require boots, so if you don’t have hiking boots or fell runners, your old runners will be fine for this hike. However, as this walk is in a remote area and weather in the mountains is often very changeable, please bring the following:

  • Rain jacket
  • Warm layer (fleece or jumper)
  • 1.5 litres of water
  • Packed lunch
  • Change of clothes , which you can leave in the car

Please don’t wear jeans. If there is rain it will make the hike very uncomfortable and you’ll get very cold. We advise you not to leave any valuables in your car and put your change of clothes bag into the boot.


Getting there  We encourage you to carpool as parking is limited. Furthermore carpooling is sociable and better for the environment. For carpooling we will meet in the city centre, outside the gates of the National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2 at 10:00. Parking is free at this location on Sundays so extra cars can be left here. Alternatively you can meet us at the hike start at 10:45.

Directions from the National Concert: First drive to Adelaide Road than then turn right at Leeson Street (N11). Follow the N11/M11 south. After passing Bray, turn at the flyover onto the R755. Follow signs for Glendalough/Roundwood. Follow this road for approximately 10km until you come to a cross roads. Here take a right turn onto L5036, follow this to the end (1.5km) you will come to a T-Junction. Turn left here to arrive at Ballinastoe Woords after about 100m.

The hike start is here:

GPS coordinates: Lat/Lon N53.10769 W6.21786